ACT Book of the Year Award

2020 ACT Book of the Year Award

Entries for the 2020 ACT Book of the Year Award closed on 31 March, 2020. 

2019 ACT Book of the Year Award


Robyn Cadwallader for Book of Colours


Ellen Broad for Made by Humans: The AI Condition

Joy McCann for Wild Sea: A History of the Southern Ocean


Andrew Hutchinson for One

Penelope Layland for Things I've Thought to Tell You Since I Saw You Last

Rachel Sanderson for Mirror Me

Book of Colours cover

More Information

The ACT Government offers an ACT Book of the Year Award for excellence in literature, valued at $10,000 for the winner, $2,000 for any highly commended book and $1,000 for each shortlisted book. The Award aims to support the development of ACT-based writers and promotes writing in the ACT. The ACT Book of the Year Award recognises quality contemporary literary works including fiction, non-fiction and poetry by ACT-based authors published in the previous calendar year. The ACT Book of the Year Award is for books written by authors who reside in the ACT, or can specifically and strongly demonstrate an ACT-based arts practice. Please refer to our information for applicants page for full eligibility requirements.

Books are considered by an independent judging panel, which recommends a shortlist and winning author to the Minister for the Arts and Cultural Events. All decisions are final and no discussion or correspondence shall be entered into regarding the judging process.

For further information on the ACT Book of the Year Award, please contact artsACT on (02) 6207 2384 or email

Previous winning nominations to the ACT Book of the Year Award External Link (page hosted by Libraries ACT)